Delusions of Grandeur

Cosmo Quizzes

Posted on: September 3, 2003

Everybody is always asking me what I’m going to do once i finally go back to school. Yesterday Tom, one of the social workers who works down the hall from me, instead of asking me what I want to do and getting the usual indefinite answer suggested I take a career interest survey…..Strong Campbell…..and see what I was best suited for. That way when I go back to school I’ll have some sort of direction. The problem is that I have yet to be able to choose a direction for myself entirely. Most of them have been choosing what’s conveniently located or what my grandmother wants me to do. Personally, as long as I had an internet connection I would be content to just move to Tahiti and sell fruit. I don’t know why life has to be so complicated. There’s no reason for this material driven “personality” that we all seem to have. Even I am guilty of it. But at the same time, I only want those possessions because everybody else around me has them too. I think if I found a remote enough place then I could be happy in my little grass hut, with a bike, a laptop, and a cushy little hammock. I wonder where the dreams of abandoning society come from? I’ve probably been working with psychiatrists for too long, i’m finding myself over analyzing everything….even more than usual. Maybe that’s what I’ll do…..i’ll study psychology, write those quizzes that cosmo publishes monthly and live in tahiti, emailing my quizzes in. My grandmother might even think a psychologist is a respectable profession!!! That is until I tell her the part about living in Tahiti. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

