Delusions of Grandeur

Friend quote

Posted on: September 4, 2003

“We call that person who has lost his father, an orphan; and a widower that man who has lost his wife. But that man who has known the immense unhappiness of losing a friend, by what name do we call him? Here every language is silent and holds its peace in impotence.”
-Joseph Roux

I was looking through an online collection of quotes (I LOVE quotes) and found this one……I think it’s really touching and I wanted to put it some place it wouldn’t get lost. Who was it who once said that friends are the siblings god forgot to give us? I think that really is true. I would be completely lost without my friends, and I think their absence is a large part of the reason I’m so unhappy here in florida. Sigh. Anyhow, on to happier thoughts. Seth’s mom’s birthday is tomorrow. We went to borders and got her several random books that looked semi-intellectual that we just crossed our fingers and hoped she hadn’t already purchased. I swear the woman already owns EVERYTHING….or at least everything she wants to own!! We’re completely out of wrapping paper…..well there’s some christmas wrapping paper, but it’s in storage so I don’t think it counts….nor is it terribly appropriate. I also bought my grandmother the first of her stocking stuffers. It’s this mini voodoo golf kit….I figure i’ll be mean/silly and write her a note that I’ve finally found a way for her to win! I can’t believe I’m already thinking about christmas presents, but I remember how last minute I bought everything last year so I want to try and stretch it out over a couple of months this year. I think I’m going to buy Angela a LiveJournal account. I could wait the week until I get a code, but then she’ll only have a free account and I think she should try out some of the features. Well, guess that’s all for tonight unless I find some other random quote.

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

