Delusions of Grandeur

a vanilla girl

Posted on: September 14, 2003

I’m a vanilla girl. Not because I like the flavor of vanilla better than I like any other flavor….in fact most of my favorite flavors of ice cream are chocolate. I like vanilla because it’s the base of everything. Everything tastes good in it…….and you can add anything you want. Vanilla ice cream and frosted flakes is one of the best late night snacks I’ve ever been introduced to. Vanilla bean ice cream with a swirl of Hershey’s chocolate syrup is one of my favorite things in the world. There’s something so simple about vanilla. It makes you happy to eat it because happy is simpler than sad. I know that sounds wierd, but I don’t think that sad is a person’s default emotion, nor do I think the default would be apathy……I think it’s happy. People, including myself, see happy as the great thing to achieve…..I think that’s why there are so few happy people. Happy is what happens when you quit worrying about all the problems in your life. Worrying is work…..therefore you have to work to be upset or sad. If you didn’t do the work of worrying you would just be happy and that would be it. Maybe you wouldn’t be full of joyous emotion and be shouting your elation to the world, but you would still be happy. Perhaps that’s where everybody went wrong…..They’re looking for the rocky road sort of happy that is every kind of happy you can imagine and they forgot about the simple happy of vanilla. This makes absolutely no sense, I know, but I was reading one of the books I picked up at Borders here pretty recently and reading about some of the exercises to know yourself better and the idea of stereotyping yourself just really appealed to me. So when I had to think about what kind of girl I was the first thing that popped into my mind was vanilla. I don’t think that i’m simple and I certainly have just a hard a time as anybody else accepting and enjoying simple pleasures, but when it comes down to it I guess the tradition of vanilla appeals to me. All the other flavors come and go but vanilla is always there at the base of everything else.

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

