Delusions of Grandeur

Keeping in touch

Posted on: September 17, 2003

“A friendship can weather most things and thrive in thin soil; but it needs a little mulch of letters and phone calls and small, silly presents every so often – just to save it from drying out completely.” -Pam Brown

Today has been a day of getting in touch with old friends. I talked to Katie this morning, one of my best friends from high school who I haven’t really kept in touch with much since she got married, and it was really great. It was surprisingly easy to talk…..none of that stilted conversation that you so often see between people who really haven’t talked to each other in years. As part of my “project keep in touch” as I’ve now decided to call it, I used one of my codes to give her a livejournal account so now it should be even easier to keep up with what’s going on in each other’s lives.

After lunch I decided to call Christina, my former roommate from CC and best friend from colorado, who I haven’t talked to but a couple of times since Wes and Shelly’s wedding, and after she mentioned something about not having the energy to send emails I told her about the livejournal keep in touch idea and offered her one of the codes, so she’s supposed to be signing on later on today and activating her journal.

I’m very excited about the idea that I’ll actually be able to keep up with what’s going on in my friends’ lives. I feel so far away from everybody…..which technically I am. Now if only I could convince Jessica to join the 21st century and get the internet!!! I don’t think that’ll happen anytime soon now…..it wasn’t until recently that we convinced her that the phone was actually a useful sort of thing….she’s such a hermit sometimes, although she’s definitely gotten much better about it over the past couple of years.

In other news. my search for my dream job is still turning up blanks. I’m no closer to knowing what I want to do now with my life than I was at 18…..maybe that’s not so true, now at least I have a few ideas about what I DON’T want to do. Seth thinks I should do something with computers, which isn’t a half bad idea, but some part of me doesn’t like the idea. I finally found a place I can take the Strong-Cambell and it’s only going to cost 19 dollars so we’ll see how that turns out. Tom has promised me he’ll go over the results with me, so I’ll have professional advice finally. I hate not having a purpose it drives me insane! Anyhow, I suppose I should actually get some work done today. One of the post docs is supposed to be calling me later on for computer help and that means my afternoon will be used up so I had better get as much done as I can now…..thankfully there’s not much since I accomplished so much yesterday.

Great big sunshiny welcomes to and

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

