Delusions of Grandeur

The house all to myself

Posted on: October 5, 2003

Tonight is the beginning of Yom Kippur so Seth is at synogogue with his parents so I have the house all to myself. I’ve got the tv turned off and my nifty new disney cd’s in the player and I’m listening to all kinds of cheerful music from assorted Disney animated films. I don’t know what it is, but the music from those movies always makes me feel so happy. I can be in the worst mood and they’ll still make me smile. Lion King comes out on dvd on tuesday so I’ll probably be walking around singing “I just can’t wait to be king” for the next month or so. It’ll be like the ninth grade all over again! My brother and sister watched that movie every single day before school and they would always have to leave for the bus right as that song was ending which meant that I had it stuck in my head for the entire day. I blame disney for everything I’ve ever forgotten. The music has infested my brain and used up all the good space, leaving only the sub-par forgetful space. I went on a disney cruise with seth, his parents and his niece one summer and one of the restaurants played instrumentals of the music from the movies. After about 10 or so seconds of the song the picture from the movie the song went to would lite up on the wall. Naturally this led to a competition for who could guess the most songs correctly and in the least amount of time. Yep, you guessed it, I knew all of them but two. In fact I knew more of them by FAR than anybody else did, including seth’s twelve year old niece. The only two I didn’t get was “Hi-ho” from Snow White, mainly because it starts out completely different from the part of the song that I actually know and I’ve only seen that movie once…..I hated it. The other one I didn’t get was from Song of the South, Zip-a-dee-doo-da, which I know, but not the beginning of it and I’ve never seen the movie. If there was some random job where all you had to do was guess Disney songs all day I would be a superstar at that job. Anyhow that’s enough rambling for now, I think I’m gonna go work on my scrapbook some more. I finished the cover last night in addition to the two pages.

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

