Delusions of Grandeur

bads need food

Posted on: October 11, 2003

Yep….”bads need food” this was what was written on the sign of some lady who was begging at the intersection of Kendall Drive and US1. Not “needs food bad” or “badly in need of food” or even “food badly needed”…..no no, it was “bads need food.” Yep. I don’t know whether to be horrified, amused, or just annoyed. That’s my random “Miami has issues” story of the day. On a completely different, but slightly related, if only because it happened to be the reason we were in that area, we went to the mall today and Burdines had all these really REALLY cute winter clothes on display. I never thought I would ever say this but, I miss winter. I miss having a reason to wear all those cute sweaters, and I saw some of the nicest coats and yet I know I’ll never have a reason to wear them so long as I live here. It does get cold, but it’s ridiculous to spend 150 dollars on a coat that I would only be able to wear for a month if I’m lucky entirely because it’s cute. Plus they have these cute baby blue suede boots that I really want…..I might end up justifying those to myself since I can find some for relatively cheap, but they would look so much cuter with winter clothes. *Sigh* I have to remind myself continually that I HATE the cold. I hate being cold, I can NEVER get out of bed in the winter…..there is nothing worse in the world than waking up to a freezing cold snowy day and knowing you have to trudge through it……that was part of the bonus of Texas weather. It gets cold enough for all the cute clothes but very seldom does it snow and when it does the entire city shuts down so you never have to trudge through it, just sit in your cozy living room and light the fireplace for it’s once yearly use and snuggle up with a mug of cocoa and plan yummy things like chili and stew for dinner. God I miss home. This time of year is my favorite time of year there just because it’s finally starting to cool off but it’s not cold enough to remotely uncomfortable yet. Here it’s still in the 80’s even at night and it’s all kinds of humid and gross. I’m going to stop now before I really get on a roll and depress myself. 😦

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

