Delusions of Grandeur

The longest day

Posted on: October 19, 2003

We went to Busch Gardens this weekend, which was a lot of fun. The park was WAY overcrowded, but other than the first haunted house I wasn’t scared, and spent way more of this year with my eyes open. In fact, I’ve discovered that having your eyes completely open all the time is the best way to avoid being scared…..all of a sudden things start looking a lot less scary……The hanging bodies from the ceiling are poorly dressed dummies, the monsters are people with lots of make-up on and slightly annoying noise-makers. The blood is Karo syrup and food coloring……everything loses alot of it’s magic, but it’s pretty hard to be scared when you’re busy analyzing where all the possible openings for people to jump out of are. I actually talked to several of the people in one of the houses…..it was fun.

Today, however, was the drive back which was just tedious. We actually ended up going pretty slow because about a quarter of the way into the trip seth got pulled over by a state trooper, which could have really sucked. Luckily we had just gotten out of a huge pack of cars so we were still going relatively slow and got off with just a warning. But after that Seth slowed down. We went to the outlet mall and got a couple of nice things, Seth got a new pair of shoes and some t-shirts and I found a couple of pair of shorts at the nike store and a really cute shirt. When we got back in the car it was just in time to hear the Dolphins lose the game against the Patriots in overtime, which is a really bad loss for the Dolphins. We put in a comedy cd and listened to it the rest of the way home.

We had just gotten back into a good mood when we arrived home. We loaded all our stuff into huge heaping piles in our arms, struggled with the door, only to be assaulted with the most awful stench when we finally managed to get the door open. We immediately dropped everything on the couch and went to investigate. Our apartment is very small so it didn’t take us long to trace the smell to our bedroom and when we opened the door we found that our dog had pee’d ALL OVER the foot of our bed and Kae had not removed the sheets so it had managed to soak through the sheet, the mattress cover, and into the feather bed…..thank god we have so many layers between the sheet and the mattress or we would have found ourselves having to replace that too. As it is we now have to replace approx. $300 worth of bedding if the cleaners doesn’t manage to remove the smell. The cleaning bill is going to be outrageous, but seth’s mom is going to pay for it.

I can’t remember a time in my life when I’ve ever felt such blinding rage. If it hadn’t been for the fact that I had to make seth stop threatening to kill the dog, I would have been threatening the same. I never want to feel that way again…..I never want to be that close to taking out my anger on a helpless creature…no matter what that creature does to inspire it. We’re getting rid of Nathan. At least once a week he does something to seriously tick one of us off and he’s got some serious issues so it’s not going to get better. I think I’ve mentioned on here before that my dog HATES it when you pack to go anywhere…and in fact always misbehaves when any sort of trip is obviously about to happen. Unfortunately with seth being in school this is pretty much every time seth packs his book bag to get ready to leave for class. It’s too much, I can’t take it and neither can seth so we’re gonna give him away before either of us does something we would regret. I feel sick just thinking about how mad I was today. I still don’t know how I managed to not lash out at him, but I’m grateful for whatever force allowed me to exercise that control. Perhaps somebody who doesn’t leave the house will be better able to handle him, but our lives are too busy and too stressful already to deal with a dog that can’t live without someone always home and always paying attention to him.

After we removed the bedding from the house I dropped Seth off at his parents and went to Walgreens and bought tons of disinfectant spray and several different air fresheners. I’ve Lysoled and Febreezed the entire house twice and added two new air fresheners and replaced the oil in the others. I also walked the dog and gave him food and water in his cage so that he can be as comfortable as possible while we’re over here doing our best to be less angry. I completely understand that it’s not his fault, but really…..I can’t afford to replace $300 worth of bedding whenever my dog gets in a “mood”.

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

