Delusions of Grandeur

All is well in Nikki Land

Posted on: October 24, 2003

Today we had the one year anniversary party for our clinic so we’ve all been running around like crazy. This is the first chance I’ve gotten to just take a breather and sit down in my office. Thankfully it’s Friday so there’s no real work to do today…..in fact I’m actually leaving relatively soon. Seth and I have to take the Helium tank back to party warehouse and then we’re gonna head down to Best Buy to buy this new game for game cube that he wants and I’m gonna pick up some pumpkin carving tools and a pumpkin or two. I’m going over to Jenny’s tonight so we can work with my psychologically damaged dog and carve pumpkins. I haven’t carved pumpkins since I was like twelve, so it should be a lot of fun.

Seth called me last night and started going into one of philosophical spiels…..he apologized for how angry he’s been lately and for taking it out on me, which was really nice because he really has been a stress case lately. He said he thinks with the new schedule I designed for him he’ll feel like he’s more in control of his time and not swimming against the current to keep up. He’s never really lived by a schedule before, always sort of going with the flow, which is very typical of Miami, so it should be an interesting thing to see how he lives with it. I imagine it’ll be pretty hard at first, but once he gets used to scheduling his time a bit better it’ll be much nicer for him. There’s no reason to only have four classes and no job and yet feel as if you have no free time. I can’t even comprehend that….I’ve never gone to school and not worked…..not since three days after I turned sixteen when I first started working at Perrone’s. At one point in time I was working three jobs and going to school…..talk about not having any free time!!! Anyhow, when he started complaining about the lack of free time I suggested the scheduling to him…..mainly because he was so resentful during his free time because he felt like he should be studying, so he didn’t enjoy the time he had, and when he was studying he was resentful because he wanted to be doing something else.

I told him how Angela schedules her study time and her free time…..and it seems to work out, you don’t have any guilt on your free time because it’s what you’re supposed to be doing. It took him about three weeks to listen to my suggestion, but he’s finally taken it so hopefully everything will work out for the best. That’s all I’ve got for now…my feet are killing me from standing around and talking to all the people I don’t know and my back hurts from all the decorating activity before the party started so I’m gonna take an aleve and wait for seth to pick me up.

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

