Delusions of Grandeur

I’m baaaaaack

Posted on: January 12, 2004

As you can probably guess from the title, I made it home. Since the title doesn’t explicitly state it, I’ll tell you that I’m safe and in one piece. My wallet, however, is battletorn and dying……the main damage was done to my checkcard, but all other forms of payment took major hits as well. Bet you didn’t know the shopping areas of San Francisco were a war zone did ya? I’m tellin’ you they are……and I lost big time!!! But that’s okay because I nowhave lots of cool stuff. Granted, most of it is only temporarily mine since I bought most of it for other people, but the stuff I am keeping is really cool too. I also got a cold, but they didn’t make me pay for that. ; )

Okay, so enough about the stuff. On to the city. I LOVED San Francisco. Everywhere you looked was something interesting to look at; it was almost as easy to get around there as it is in London ( I say almost because I had to ask the information people questions several times whereas if you follow all the signs or hundreds of maps available of the public transit system in London then it’s pretty self-explanatory); the people were beyond nice, don’t know where I got the impression that Californians are generally rude, but I can vouch that at least the San Francisco variety are very pleasant.

I only had Saturday to really spend the entire day being a tourist, but I really made as much of it as possible. I started off the day by taking the trolley down to Fisherman’s Wharf, wandered around through Pier 39, got some hopefully cool pictures of the sea lions — they were playing “king of the wooden dock thingy” it was totally cute, then took a cruise around the bay and listened to some random actor on a tape tell me some of the history of the golden gate bridge, alcatraz, angel island, the bay bridge and the fires that happened as a result of the earthquake in 1906.

After the cruise I wandered over to Ghiradelli square, taking note of the fact that there’s an In and Out burger down there, which seth had wanted me to try….he (rightfully as it turns out) claims it’s the best fast food burger available. I wandered around Ghiradelli square for a bit, got some free chocolate, read all the little historic signs and then decided to make my way to the legion of honor. Turns out that once you get past Divisidero street they don’t scale the map anymore so what looks like a simple six blocks past Divisidero is actually more like 40. Thankfully I asked the information guy how to get there on the Muni before I took off on foot or I’m pretty sure those hills would have killed me.

Anyhow, I’m finding myself increasingly bored with this post so I think I’ll just stop there and maybe post the rest of the details later. Let’s just leave it at “I had tons of fun, did lots of shopping and wish I had more time, but am glad to be back home where room service doesn’t cost me a thing!”

once again, all paragraph breaks are courtesy of Katie. Congrats on your move, I hope you’re settling into your new apartment comfortably and that all is well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

