Delusions of Grandeur

I feel like such a slacker…..

Posted on: January 17, 2004

I know….I know……if you guys go too long without posting I bitch, whine, complain and make a huge nuisance of myself until you get your acts together and start updating and then I disappear for the better part of a week. But it’s not my fault, really…..blame stupid Earthlink who STILL hasn’t switched on my DSL at the new place, and in fact was still CHARGING me for DSL at the old place until Thursday when I called and yelled at them for half an hour about how incompetent they are and how I’m not going to pay them at all for the switch if they don’t get it done in the amount of time they said they would, etc, etc, etc…..

I must say, it was quite mean, but it seems to have worked. Whereas nothing had been done on my account as of Thursday, today I checked and the switch is well under way, they’ve FINALLY taken that stupid moving fee out of my bank account, they undid the dsl charges from the 29th of December forward and in fact didn’t even charge me for DSL at ALL last month, even though technically I should have paid it from the 16th through the 29th, and today I walked in and saw the DSL sync light on my modem flashing briefly which means they were probably testing the line or something. I should probably have DSL again by Tuesday at the latest. Which means I’ll be back to my regular updates. My dial-up connection is ridiculously slow though, something like 14.4 most of the time, although I’ve seen it go as high as 30-something, which is still pretty pathetic. Needless to say, slow internet is depressing so I’ve just not been on the internet for the past week at home and have been too busy at work to have time to log on. So I’m sorry I haven’t updated, and promise I’ll be more regular soon, but will be accepting no recriminations for my hypocritical behavior. 🙂

Anyhow, life is pretty normal around here right now. We STILL haven’t completely settled in, partly because we were still moving things up until thursday. I’m currently trying to think of ways to re-arrange the second bedroom/office, I hate the way it’s set up right now and it’s only a matter of time before I figure out a more ideal arrangement. The living room and kitchen are pretty well set, we’re still trying to decide what we’re doing with the dining room and the master bedroom is about halfway finished, mainly due to the fact that I went to San Francisco last week and have been too busy and/or lazy this week to mess with it. This is a long weekend though so everything should be in place by the end of it….in fact I’m getting off here right now to get back to work, I just wanted to update and check up on everybody while I had a chance. Oh, and Angela sent around a really sweet chainletter (god I hate chainmail, but this really was sweet….well, minus the guilt trip on the end if you don’t forward it) so instead of going against all my natural tendencies and forwarding it (god help me if it ever comes to that!) I figured I would just put it here and that takes care of everybody. 🙂
Hugs and love,
Nikki

(I deleted most of the story, it was too long and came annoyingly close to making me cry, so I’ve selected the pertinant, non-crying parts to put here.) 🙂

“I wish you enough sun to keep your attitude bright. I wish you enough rain to
appreciate the sun more. I wish you enough happiness to keep your spirit
alive. I wish you enough pain so that the smallest joys in life appear much
bigger. I wish you enough gain to satisfy your wanting. I wish you enough loss
to appreciate all that you possess. I wish enough “Hello’s” to get you through
the final “Good-bye.”
My friends and loved ones, I wish you ENOUGH!!!

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

