Delusions of Grandeur

The oscars

Posted on: February 29, 2004

After catching Son in Law on TBS I switched over to E! to catch all the red carpet moments that nobody will be talking about tomorrow……I had completely forgotten exactly how annoying Joan Rivers is…..it truly is frightening. Anyhow I’ll edit this post throughout the evening with whatever thoughts come to mind. In the meantime I suppose I’ll get back to work on all this stuff that needs to be done by tomorrow morning.

I decided to throw in a cut since this was getting ridiculously long….no sense in clogging everybody’s friends list with my ramblings. 🙂

1st edit: Elijah Wood is such a cutie. 🙂

2nd edit: Nicole Kidman’s dress…..how on earth is that staying up?!?! Can’t decide if I like Liv Tyler’s hair or not…I didn’t realize her voice was so high pitched….maybe it’s just worn out from all the interviews as she made her way up the carpet?

3rd edit:Random funny comments from Billy Crystal’s opening
–In regards to LOTR:ROTK : “11 nominations–one for each ending”
–from the opening video when he’s listening to Gandalf saying his line about working with the time you are given “This from the guy in a 9 hour movie.”
–from when he’s singing about LOTR “then smeegle pops out like Janet’s right boob”
–“I first hosted this 13 years ago, things were different then, Bush was president, the economy was tanking and we just got out of a war with Iraq.”

Other notes….no matter how old he gets, Sean Connery will always have the sexiest voice imaginable. Catherine Zeta Jones is wearing a positively gorgeous dress. And finally I will never be able to see Benecio del Torro and not think of that movie he did with Alicia Silverstone.

4th edit: They just played a scene from Return of the King (the one where everybody bows to the Hobbits) and I totally got goosebumbs.
I didn’t know steve jobs was associated with Pixar……

5th edit: Awww……Renee was so cute and sweet and obviously nervous…who would’ve thought a girl from small town Texas would come so far….

I was highly amused by Tom Hanks’ entrance to the presidential march…….and his subsequent comments on it.
I couldn’t for the life of me figure out what the music was during the whole Bob Hope spiel and right at the end it struck me……Forrest Gump, the feather theme part. I’m going to have to start a list of movies that I have to watch at the end of this…..

the edits continue….I’m just gonna stop numbering them 🙂

Oh my god….I can’t help it, I’ve decided I do NOT like Liv Tyler’s hair….and it’s entirely because of the glasses she’s wearing now…..I’m hopelessly reminded of Rita Skeeter when I see her. For those of you who haven’t read Harry Potter, well shame on you, you’ll just have to not know what I’m talking about.

Well, LOTR:ROTK is now tied with Titanic and Ben Hur for the most academy awards ever…….if you count all the ones it got for the first two movies that makes it the most ever. 🙂 😉 It got every oscar it was nominated for and resulted in an inordinate number of people in New Zealand being thanked. I really wish that movie would hurry up and be released on DVD, but of course it’ll be like November by the time the extended edition comes out so I guess I had better get used to waiting.

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

