Delusions of Grandeur

The energy crisis

Posted on: April 28, 2004

I’m in a mood to rant about various things, however I lack the energy required for a true sustained rant — which incidentally is the energy crisis I refer to in my subject line, so far as I know the only place in the country suffering from an energy crisis is California and since I live on the opposite side of the country, I feel sorry for them but really am not overly worried about it. Anyhow….

Have any of you ever noticed how some people seem to go out of their way to take up WAY more than their allotted amount of space, especially on narrow sidewalks hemmed in by construction on either side. Then they walk incredibly slow which increases your desire to get past them while their elbows (which are BOTH sticking out on either sides of them, and I mean WAY out, one of which is at eye level because they haven’t learned how to talk on the phone with their arm close to their bodies) decrease any chance of getting past them. Additionally they feel that the traditional rules of walking on a certain side of the sidewalk do not apply to them, nosiree, they can walk down the middle and bugger anybody who thinks otherwise. This middle of the sidewalk phenomenon is particularly prevalent in Miami……I tell you it’s like one big game of chicken down here. hmmmm…..well, look at that, guess I had the energy for a rant after all…..even if it is a small one.

This ranty mood combined with the energy crisis is most certainly a result of the nasty weather we’re having. When I was in Ireland I thought misty days were charming….they even had a charming name for it “soft weather.” Here it’s not soft, it’s damp and generally annoying. So damp that you generally feel like just the process of breathing is going to result in a deadly case of pneumonia, but I imagine if that was truly the case then there would be far fewer people living here….although you never know, people are a glutton for punishment.

On the other hand I have a nice hot cup of corn chowder and some refreshingly clean, “purity guaranteed” aquafina to keep me company while I wait for this day to end so I suppose I’ll quit whining……all the people in places that have real energy crises are probably saying “thank god.” The rest of you are just used to me. 🙂

Anyhow, I was going to wait until I had properly answered Sean’s journal to steal this, but I don’t feel like waiting and who knows when I’ll be able to come up with an interesting memory for his, although I do promise I will. In a revival of an age old meme:

Post a memory of me in the comments. It can be anything you want.
Then- post this to your journal and see what people remember of you.

Another fun, slightly more recent one is to make up a memory of me and post it in the comments, then do the same in your journal…well, you know the drill.

In fact, to spice things up a bit, you don’t even have to bother to mention whether it’s real or not…only you and I will know the truth and I won’t tell. Unless of course you say something unspeakable such as “I remember the time you wore white shoes after labor day.” In which case I will shake my head sadly that you would tell such a travesty of a lie and then answer back with something along the lines of “of course I remember that!! That was the time my calendar got all switched around and I came to school dressed for Halloween in February!” But I still won’t tell that it’s a lie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

