Delusions of Grandeur

It’s amazing how not comforting people can be sometimes….

Posted on: June 3, 2004

My grandmother called me last night….the conversation went something like this —

Nona – Hi honey, I was just calling to find out if you want me to come down there this weekend to stay with you

Me – Nona, that’s really sweet but I don’t think it’s necessary. I would love to have you down here but I’m sure I’ll be fine.

Nona – well, if you’re sure you’ll be alright, I just thought you might want me to come down just in case

Me (as I digest the previous statement I slowly begin to freak out) – what do you mean just in case….what can happen…..people have their teeth cut out all the time right?

Nona – well, you’ve never been under anaesthesia before …. don’t worry, nothing’s going to happen

Me – thanks for offering though, like I said I would love to have you down here but it’s really not necessary to interrupt your regular schedule just for my teeth.

Nona – alright then, I gotta get off here, we’re leaving for dinner soon. Seth has my number just in case right?

So I was completely unworried before that conversation, but of course now I’m freaking out. If I had any money or anything worth doling out I would probably be working out my will right now. I have to say that death by dental procedure sounds like a pretty crappy way to go. Hmmmm…..maybe I should start on that will. Do you think a livejournal entry would hold up in court? Well, I suppose if I have to die tomorrow it’s a good thing I’m going to see Harry Potter tonight, I would hate to have died and not seen that movie after all the build-up. 😉

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

