Delusions of Grandeur

cruise, day 2

Posted on: June 20, 2004

So far everything is going great. This is going to be a relatively brief entry as it costs 35 cents a minute for internet access and just getting to this site took me a little over a minute. See, that’s how much I love you guys, I check in even when I’m in the middle of the ocean. 🙂 The boat is absolutely huge, although still manageable, nothing so huge as say the Majesty of the Seas or anything, but definitely the biggest boat I’ve been on. You wouldn’t believe how gorgeous it is and that’s only been the water as today is a day at sea.

We land in Juneau sometime early this morning and get up bright and early to start exploring. We’re taking a whale watching tour tomorrow and we’ll get pretty close to the Mendenhall glacier as well. I’m really very excited about that, I’ve heard that nowhere in the world will you see colors like you see reflected in the glacial ice. Tonight is our first formal night and I’ve actually got an appointment to have my hair done here in about 30 minutes. We’re having a massive group portrait taken (there are 13 of us) and if it comes out even half as well as the first portrait we took when we were boarding the ship then it’ll be wonderful.

As I type we’re passing some random Canadian Island and I can look out the window and see the occasional whale. It’s a bit chilly outside but that’s more a factor of the wind than it is anything else and I’ve found that if I stay towards the back of the boat the wind is less and it’s really quite warm. Anyhow I’ve now used up over 5 minutes…thank god I can type relatively quickly otherwise I would have just cost myself a fortune. Hugs and love to everybody and I’ll probably check back in when I get another chance.

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

