Delusions of Grandeur

call 267-8433…..

Posted on: July 27, 2004

Alright, so I’ve decided Dave Barry has a point. The reason I can’t remember my ATM pin number is because my head is clogged up with random useless songs and jingles….for instance, the Dalworth carpet jingle. As far as I know, Dalworth carpet went out of business when I was like 10 or 12 or thereabouts, yet to this day I randomly get “Call 267-8433 because the next best thing to new is Dalworth clean!” stuck in my head. Why god, why?!?!

I’m thoroughly convinced that the reason I routinely forget to pick up stuff at the grocery store is because my brain is too busy singing “I just can’t wait to be king” and not thinking about the fact that Kae has once again used up all the hot sauce. In fact, I would say that 90% of the random useless crap in my brain is a result of watching too many disney movies. I’m relatively disturbed by the fact that at the age of 24 I still know all the lyrics to “A dream is a wish your heart makes.” But I guess I can forgive that one since I watched Cinderella every single day the summer I was 8….what’s more disturbing is that I know most of the words to “The Bear Necessities” and I haven’t seen the Jungle book nearly as many times, nor is it too high ranking on my favorites list.

Speaking of Dave Barry, if you’re in the mood for a laugh, pick up Dave Barry’s book of bad songs….I still re-read it periodically and spend just about the entire book gasping for breath I end up laughing so hard.

Don’t ask me what put me on that tangent….I don’t know, all I know is that today in the middle of our weekly staff meeting I caught myself humming the dalworth carpet cleaning song and I’ve since been unable to remove it from my mind. The only thing I can think of that might have put it there is that I saw a Roto-rooter truck today, which put that jingle in my mind (for those of you who’ve forgotten, it’s “roto-rooter, that’s our name, and away goes trouble down the drain”) and maybe thinking of that jingle unlocked the jingle portion of my brain. Or maybe I’m just going crazy.

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

