Delusions of Grandeur

Lime Diet Coke

Posted on: July 29, 2004

As many of you may know, I despise Coke….can’t stand the stuff, will die of thirst before drinking it….and my opinion of Diet Coke is even lower. Many of you may also know that I am the target audience of people who sit around and think up catchy jingles, snazzy advertisements and interesting new packaging for products. Seriously, I am the American Consumer….those ads all talk to me.

So last weekend I was standing in line at Best Buy and glanced over at the soda fridge and saw a diet coke with a green lid. The first thing that popped into my head is “since when does Coke have green lids?” Of course I had to backtrack to look at it, and then I sort of shrugged it off and went about the process of paying for my purchases….or rather, watching Seth pay for my purchases. That stupid green lid has stayed in my mind for the entire week, seriously….I couldn’t stop thinking about the idea of lime diet coke. So today, when I was once again at Best Buy, I bought one, just because I figured even if I hated it (which I suspected I would) at least I could get the crap out of my head. Took one drink and fell head over heels in soft drink love. Yep….it defies all logic, but somehow they finally managed to find a way that not only can I tolerate the stuff, but I love it. All because some guy or gal was smart enough to say, “Hey, why don’t we make the caps green…that’ll catch people’s eye.”

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

