Delusions of Grandeur

Revisiting the past

Posted on: May 3, 2010

I just discovered that I can import all of my old livejournal posts onto wordpress with the click of a button.  I cannot tell you how ecstatic this makes me as I was morning the loss of all of those ramblings from the days of yore.  Livejournal is the only blog I’ve ever successfully managed to update with any frequency, largely because it was the only one that many of my friends were members of as well.  Before the days of myspace and facebook I loyally plugged away at my livejournal, happily rambling on about anything and everything that crossed my mind.  It was like an email I could send out to all of my friends at once.  No need to be too personal, but a great way to make sure that we all knew what was going on in each other’s lives.  Alas, all of that has been taken over by the miniscule status updates in facebook, but I suppose that’s the nature of progress.  Ever shortening attention spans leads to ever shorter media to communicate with.  Oddly enough I joined twitter this week and somehow the 140 character limit bothers me far less than I thought it would, considering how annoyed I frequently am at the size of facebook status updates.  Maybe it’s the different nature of tweets?  Well, in any event all of those livejournal posts are now part of this blog so history has been preserved and I can now revisit those memories whenever I feel like it. 🙂

2 Responses to "Revisiting the past"

awesome, nikki. i wish i could do the same with my old modblog. but i fear those words are lost forever.

I’m not familiar with mod blog, but most of them have a way to export the blog, could you export to a save file and then import into your current type pad blog?

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

