Delusions of Grandeur

No Resolutions here….

Posted on: January 3, 2011

I’m pretty sure that there is some sort of law of the universe that makes it almost impossible to actually keep New Year’s resolutions.  I’m definitely not alone in my inability to stop biting my nails, to take more pictures, exercise more, eat healthier, live within my means, or actually post to this blog like I intend to.  I think the problem with resolutions is that they place an awful lot of pressure on us and like rebellious children we quickly find ways to shirk our duties and by the time April Fool’s Day is here, most of us have stopped feeling guilty about ignoring the resolution, if we even stop to remember that we made it in the first place.  So this year I’m not making any real resolutions.  I have a few suggestions for my own life, but that’s all they are.  Suggestions for things that may make my life run smoother and make me feel happier in general.  Little goals that don’t hover over me and buzz at me like pesky flies reminding me of all the things I am not accomplishing instead of allowing me to focus on the nice things I DO get finished.

With all that in mind, here is one of my “suggestions” for myself.  Wordpress is doing a postaday2011 and postaweek2011 challenge of sorts which I think I might want to participate in.  In previous years I would have determined that I was going to do the postaday challenge and set off all gung-ho and stopped posting by week two.  But in my more reasonable and realistic mind frame I’ve decided that I’ll try to get in a post a week, but if that doesn’t happen, just once a month would be a step up from how I’ve been doing, so I’ll view that as an accomplishment.  Overall I think it’s a pretty reasonable goal and it doesn’t have the pressure of a true resolution so maybe it’s something I’ll actually accomplish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

