Delusions of Grandeur

Perfection…the perpetual roadblock

Posted on: January 6, 2011

I stumbled on this blog today via a long and convoluted route that I won’t get into right now, but this particular post, which wasn’t the first one I read, is one that I really felt needed to be shared.

#54 – Writing Hacks, Part 1: Starting « Scott Berkun.

It’s amazing to me how many things in our lives get put to the side because we can’t accomplish them perfectly.  I’ve mentioned this before, but since it’s something that I still get hung up on, even knowing that it’s a sticking point for me, I suppose that it won’t hurt to mention it again.  I truly think that if I can convince myself to let go of the need for perfection there would be so many more things that I would try.  If I didn’t have to do everything the RIGHT way, if I could just do them any way at all I can only imagine how many more experiences I would have and how much richer my life would be in general.  For example, I’ve been thinking about taking Salsa lessons for at least the past ten years (living in Miami will do that to you).  I’ve had plenty of opportunities but I haven’t gotten around to it.  Why?  Partly because of time, but mostly it’s because I know that I’m clumsy and uncoordinated and I frankly feel like an idiot on the dance floor unless there are large amounts of alcohol added the equation (at which point in time I STILL feel like an idiot, I just care a little less).

I wonder how many people never accomplish even half the things on their “bucket lists” because they’re afraid that they won’t be able to do them the “right” way, that they won’t be perfect.  Looking back over this blog entry I can see at least a dozen things that are driving me crazy about it and normally I would just scrap the whole entry and not end up posting anything for the day.  But in the spirit of cutting myself some slack and letting go of perfection a bit I’m going to finish this line and hit publish. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other followers

