Delusions of Grandeur

crabs….an infestation of a whole other sort

Posted on: August 11, 2004

I’ve never been fond of crabs, I don’t like seafood in general and the other kind (you know, the ones you thought of when you read my subject line….just admit it!), well that’s just gross. So you can imagine my dismay when I discovered that there is such a thing as “land” crabs here in south florida. Somehow I had managed to live here three years, one of which I lived right off the water, without discovering this. I had to find out the hard day while walking my dog the other day. I was walking through the garage paying more attention to the ceiling than the floor (we also have ALOT of spiders) and suddenly Nathan took off. I thankfully stopped his leash, thinking he was chasing a cat, but no, instead I see this gigantic crab (well, maybe not gigantic, but certainly large enough to startle me) doing a wierd sideways run thing.

Ever since that day I’ve had to divide my attention between the ceiling and the floor because many legged creatures can now attack me from either direction. I can’t tell you how disturbing this is. Instead I’ll leave it to your imaginations…..but keep in mind that spending the majority of the first five years of your life in El Paso, TX home of scorpions, several nasty poisonous spiders, and gigantic cockroaches leaves it’s mark on the psyche. Crabs…..one more reason to think Miami is a fairly unpleasant place to live. Thank god it’s only four more years!!!

Leave a comment

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 86 other subscribers